League Report: Cobh Ramblers 1 - 1 Treaty United

Treaty United played out a 1-1 draw away to Cobh Ramblers in Friday's First Division Munster derby. 

The result from St. Coleman’s Park now extends the Shannonsider's winless league run to 13 matches.

Treaty defeated Cobh on the opening night of the season 3-1 in front of a packed-out Markets Field in a game that Thomas Considine hit a brace.

Both sides seemed to struggle with the new synthetic surface in Cobh in a quiet first quarter devoid of any real goalmouth action. 

In the 19th minute, David Bosnjak put the home side in front with a well-taken finish, despite claims of handball in the build-up.

Treaty were forced to respond with Devitt playing through Mark Byrne on goal five minutes later but the winger blasted his effort well over. Byrne had another good chance moments later but his driven effort went narrowly passed the post.

The Shannonsiders began to mount pressure on the Cobh goal with Devitt driving a strike from distance with his deflected effort forcing a top-class save from Burke to maintain the Ram’s lead.

In the 40th minute, Treaty had the ball in the Cobh net courtesy of Yoyo Mahdy but the linesman flag had already gone up, sending the visitors a goal down at the interval despite their heavy pressure.

Just after the restart Bosnjak nearly doubled his and Cobh’s tally but O’Connor made a crucial block to prevent an almost certain goal.

Moments later the sides were level through Lee Devitt whose powerful header rattled the back of the Cobh net after an in-winging Armshaw corner in the 55th minute.

The next big chance fell to the home side, with McKevitt hitting the post. Treaty then hit the crossbar through centurion Stephen Christopher. Byrne couldn’t hit the target from the follow-up. Shortly after Armshaw’s went close to putting the Shannonsiders in front but his effort went narrowly wide.

McKevitt almost grabbed a winner for the Ram’s in the 88th minute but he glanced his header wide of the target.

Oisín O’Reilly received a late dismissal for what appeared to be an off-the-ball incident, forcing Treaty to play the final moments with ten men.

The Limerick side will make another trip to Leeside next Friday when they take on arch-rivals and table-toppers Cork City. 

Meanwhile, Cobh will travel to the Sout-East to take on play-off chasing Wexford.


Cobh Ramblers: Darragh Burke, Cian Browne, Brendan Frahill, Jason Abbott (David Eguaibor 83), Charlie O’Brien, James O’Leary, David Bosnjak (Liam Kervick), Dale Holland, Dean Larkin, Jack Larkin, Mathew McKevitt.

Treaty United: Corey Chambers, Ben O’Riordan, Oisín O’Reilly, Evan O’Connor, Alec Byrne (Fionn Doherty 60), Thomas Considine, Lee Devitt, Colin Conroy, Stephen Christopher, Yoyo Mahdy (William Armshaw 51), Mark Byrne.