Treaty United add Limerick camogie star Laura O'Neill to their ranks

Laura O'Neill has signed for Treaty ahead of the 2024 Premier Division season.

Laura O'Neill has signed for Treaty ahead of the 2024 Premier Division season. Credit: Treaty United

Treaty United continue their development under new ownership with the addition of midfielder Laura O’Neill to the squad for the coming season.

O’Neill has spent the past nine seasons between the sticks with Limerick’s camogie side but will revert to her preferred position in the middle of the park with the ball at her feet.

The 26-year-old won the All-Ireland Intermediate Championship in 2014 and is highly decorated as a member of Na Piarsaigh GAA, while she played underage football with Caherdavin Celtic, Coonagh United and Murroe.

“I am absolutely delighted to be playing with Treaty United in 2024,” O’Neill told the Limerick city club’s media team. 

“It was always in the back of my mind that I would go back playing football some day.

“And being a local girl from Limerick city, when the opportunity came up to play with Treaty and get the chance to play League of Ireland football, it was just something I couldn’t turn down. 

“It was a difficult decision to make to switch codes but it’s definitely a decision I am happy with. There is a hugely talented group of girls there.”

Treaty have been transformed in the off-season with a joint takeover by Canadian company Tricor Pacific International and ex-Irish international Ciara McCormack.

McCormack was a member of the Treaty squad last year and will now take on CEO duties, while her influence in the boardroom has already told with a host of new additions.

Former Ireland international Dominic Foley, once of Wolverhampton Wanderers, Watford, Bohemians and Cercle Brugge, has taken over as manager.

And O’Neill is his 18th signing ahead of the 2024 campaign, with Grace Gleeson a recent returnee from FAI Cup winners Athlone Town.

The Canadian connection has become immediately apparent with the addition of six Canucks in Caleigh Boeckx, Erin van Dolder, Stefanie Young, Talia White, Delana Friesen and Kayla Kyle.

Goalkeeper Anne-Marie Ulliack re-signing brings the Canadian contingent to seven and she will compete with Australian international Eliza Campbell for the jersey.

Esra Kangal, Leah Martin, Grace McInerney, Shauna Pearson, Madison McGuane, Katie Lawlee, Fiana Bradley and Cara Griffin have also signed up for the new season.