Finn Harps retain eight more players for 2024

Ryan Rainey will remain at Finn Harps for another year

Ryan Rainey will remain at Finn Harps for another year Credit: Gerry Shanahan (ETPhotos)

First Division strugglers Finn Harps have confirmed the retention of eight players from this year's squad ahead of the 2024 campaign. 

Harps stumbled to a lowly ninth-placed league finish this year aafter suffering relegation from the top-flight in 2022.

But they have managed to keep the core of this season's squad together as newly-appointed boss Darren Murphy rings the changes at Finn Park.

But Tim Hiemer, Patrick Ferry, Ryan Rainey, Sean O’Donnell, Matty Makinson, Max Hutchison, Stephen Doherty and Jamie Watson will all stay on at the club.

But Murphy also revealed that Harps are returning to a hybrid full and part-time model ahead of next term.

"I’m over the moon that the lads have committed to us for next season," he explained.

"Most of them signed deals to play full-time football but due to a number of factors we will be moving to more of a hybrid model for the coming year.

"Since I took charge, I’ve been meeting with members of last year’s squad to explain the situation and I wouldn’t have blamed anyone for taking issue with the changes.

"But to their credit, these boys have taken it in their stride and have committed themselves to the club, and to the supporters. 

"I’ve said a few times already that I’m only looking for players who want to be here for the right reasons, to play for a club and community that they are proud to represent.

"These lads have shown me that in abundance and I’m looking forward to getting back to work on the training pitch with them in January."