Arsenal and Republic of Ireland star Katie McCabe shortlisted for the 2023 Women's Ballon d'Or

Ireland v Finland; Katie McCabe (c) of Ireland takes selfies with supporters after the game

Katie McCabe getting a photo with a fan Credit: Peter Fitzpatrick (ETPhotos)

Katie McCabe has earned a spot on the prestigious 30-player shortlist for the 2023 Women’s Ballon d’Or.

Recognised for her exemplary skill and commitment on the field, McCabe's nomination reflects her stunning form during the 2022/23 season.

Last season saw McCabe clinch the title of Player of the Season for Arsenal, along with bagging the WSL Goal of the Season with a phenomenal strike against Manchester City.

Her presence was consistent throughout the season, contributing in 21 league matches and making 12 appearances in Arsenal's journey to the Champions League semi-finals.

McCabe's outstanding performances in the European tournament also earned her a place in the UEFA Team of the Season.

Adding to her club-level accolades, McCabe celebrated victory by lifting the Continental Tyres League Cup.

Internationally, Katie McCabe made headlines by captaining the Republic of Ireland in the 2023 World Cup.

She made history by netting Ireland's first-ever goal in the competition during a match against Canada.

Throughout the World Cup hosted by Australia and New Zealand, she featured prominently in three matches.

The prestigious Ballon d’Or Féminin, awarded since 2018, will reveal this year's winner in a grand ceremony set to take place in Paris on Monday, October 30.

Full list of nominees are: 
Katie McCabe (Arsenal)
Amanda Ilestedt (PSG and Arsenal)
Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona)
Mapi Leon (Barcelona)
Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona)
Patricia Guijarro (Barcelona)
Salma Paralluelo (Barcelona)
Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona)
Khadija Shaw (Man City)
Yui Hasegawa (Man City)
Jill Roord (Wolfsburg and Man City)
Hayley Raso (Man City and Real Madrid)
Sam Kerr (Chelsea)
Guro Reiten (Chelsea)
Millie Bright (Chelsea)
Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg)
Ewa Pajor (Wolfsburg)
Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg)
Linda Caicedo (Real Madrid)
Olga Ramona (Real Madrid)
Kadidiatou Diani (Lyon)
Wendie Renard (Lyon)
Debinha (Kansas City)
Mary Earps (Man United)
Hinata Miyazawa (MyNavi Sendai and Man United)
Daphne Van Domselaar (Twente and Aston Villa)
Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns)
Georgia Stanway (Bayern Munich)
Rachel Daly (Aston Villa)
Alba Redondo (Levante)