FAI Intermediate Cup round-up: Holders Rockmount advance alongside Ayrfield United, Ringmahon Rangers, Kilbarrack United and Cobh Wanderers

Reigning champions Rockmount safely secured their passage into the fourth round of the competition after a 3-1 victory over Leinster Senior League champions St Mochta’s.

The Munster Senior League giants have dominated the competition in recent years and they will be confident that they can go all the way once again.

And they will do well to face a side of Mochta’s quality in the latter rounds.

Eoin Murphy scored and a brace from Luke Casey sealed their progression after Jake Donnelly netted a consolation for the Dubliners.

And that result set the tone for a Munster Senior League dominated round with few Leinster Senior League sides getting through.

Only Kilbarrack United and Maynooth University Town saw off Cork opposition.

And Kilbarrack even had to come from a goal behind to defeat MSL side UCC at Greendale Road.

Sean Power gave UCC the lead before Deiric Hyland, Lewis Skelly, Sean Doyle and Mark Townley all struck for Ross Carrig’s side to see them through with a 4-1 victory.

And Maynooth also came through with a three-goal success with Eoin O’Neill, Dragos Mamaliga and David Blake all scoring.

But the tie of the round came in Belfield as St Francis edged past UCD 4-3.

The Students, led by former League of Ireland boss Andy Myler, stayed in the game during a thrilling contest against their top-flight opponents.

Charlie Gallagher, Stephen Sweeney and William Griffin all scored for the Dublin 4 side. 

But it was not enough as a Janabi Amour brace and goals from Divin Isamala and Darragh Murphy saw Francis through. 

Meanwhile, Ayrfield United also reached the last-16 of the competition thanks to a 3-2 victory over Inchicore Athletic.

Danny Hickey scored a late winner after Louis Franzoni and Conor Young both scored to cancel out goals from Inchicore pair Shane Larkin and Shane Hyland.

Collinstown also came through a tie against Skerries Town, sealing a 3-2 victory. 

A Dean Carpenter brace proved decisive for Collinstown after Daniel Matthews also scored.

Chris Pollis and Robert McKenna both netted for the hosts.

Meanwhile, Wilton United defeated Liffey Wanderers 2-1, Leeds AFC eased past Rush Athletic 4-0 and Ringmahon Rangers knocked Hartstown Huntstown out with a 1-0 success.

But 2020 FAI Intermediate Cup runners-up Killester Donnycarney were dumped out with a heavy 3-0 loss against Cobh Wanderers.

Former Cobh Ramblers pair Nathan O’Connell and Ciaran Griffin both scored for the Cork side after Cian O’Connor gave Wanderers a 1-0 lead.

Ballyfermot United also advanced with a 2-1 victory against Conor Kenna’s Kilnamanagh as Carrigaline United won 3-1 away to Finglas United.

Malahide United were also KO’d on spot-kicks after a pulsating encounter against Midleton - losing 4-2 on penalties after the sides could not be separated after 120 minutes of play.

And College Corinthians claimed a scalp away to Bluebell United with a 4-2 victory at the Red Cow.

Former Glenavon striker Josh Doyle scored a brace for the Bell but it was in vain as College netted four with Killian Cooper and Keelan Crowley scoring two each.


Skerries Town 2-3 Collinstown

Scorers: (Skerries Town) Chris Pollis, Robert McKenna. (Collinstown) Dean Carpenter x2, Daniel Matthews. 

Inchicore Athletic 2-3 Ayrfield United

Scorers: (Inchicore) Shane Larkin, Shane Hyland. (Ayrfield United) Danny Hickey, Louis Franzoni, Conor Young. 

Wilton United 2-1 Liffey Wanderers

Scorers: (Wilton) Anthony Brothers x2. (Liffey Wanderers) Michael Sandford.

Leeds AFC 4-0 Rush Athletic

Scorers: (Leeds AFC) Robert O’Connor, Dylan Foley, Ciaran Hanifin, Ryan O’Gorman.

Ringmahon Rangers 1-0 Hartstown Huntstown

Scorer: (Ringmahon) Anthony McAlavey

Cobh Wanderers 3-0 Killester Donnycarney

Scorers: (Cobh Wanderers) Cian O’Connor, Nathan O’Connell, Ciaran Griffin.

Kilbarrack United 4-1 UCC

Scorers: (Kilbarrack United) Mark Townley, Deiric Hyland, Lewis Kelly, Sean Doyle. (UCC) Sean Power.

Carrigtwohill United 0-3 Maynooth University Town

Scorers: Eoin O’Neill, Dragos Mamalinga, David Blake.

Kilnamanagh 1-2 Ballyfermot United

Scorers: (Kilnamanagh) Tadhg Ward. (Ballyfermot United) Darryl Henderson x2.

UCD 3-4 St Francis 

Scorers: (UCD) Charlie Gallagher, Stephen Sweeney, William Griffin. (St Francis) Janabi Amour x2, Divin Isamala, Darragh Murphy.

Bluebell United 2-4 College Corinthians 

Scorers: (Bluebell) Josh Doyle x2. (College Corinthians) Killian Cooper x2, Keelan Crowley x2. 

Malahide United 2-2 Midleton - (Midleton win 4-2 on pens)

Scorers: (Malahide United) Dylan Cashin, TBC. (Midleton) Eoin Healy, Jake Hegarty.

Finglas United 1-3 Carrigaline United

Scorers: (Finglas) Troy Owens. (Carrigaline) Arseni Lamonov, Killian Murphy, Richard Duggan. 

Rockmount 3-1 St Mochta’s

Scorers: (Rockmount) Eoin Murphy, Luke Casey x2. (St Mochta’s) Jake Donnelly.