Competition: 2014 FIFA World Cup Group F    Venue: Estadio Mineirao, Belo Horizonte    Attendance:    Referee: Milorad Mazic (Serbia)

Lionel Messi - Goal (90' + 1')

Sat 21 Jun 2014

1 - 0

(Full Time)

Javad Nekounam - Yellow Card (53')

Masoud Shojaei - Yellow Card (73')

Starting Lineup
(G) Sergio Romero
(D) Federico Fernandez
(D) Ezequiel Garay
(D) Marcos Rojo
(D) Pablo Zabaleta
(M) Fernando Gago
(M) Angel Di Maria
(M) Javier Mascherano
(F) Sergio Aguero
(F) Gonzalo Higuain
(F) Lionel Messi
Augusto Fernandez
Martin Demichelis
Hugo Campagnaro
Lucas Biglia
Jose Basanta
Mariano Andujar
Ricardo Alvarez
Ezequiel Lavezzi
Agustin Orion
Rodrigo Palacio
Enzo Perez
Maxi Rodriguez

World Cup 2014 - Argentina 1 - 0 Iran
Published: June 21, 2014

One of the World's greatest ever players Lionel Messi scored an injury time winner to crush Iran's resilience after Argentina endured a frustrating evening during their Group F clash in Belo Horizonta.


Early on Di Maria's corner caused a scare for a defensively set up Iran as Rojo managed to get on the end of the placed ball with a headed chance. However like much of Argentina's play in the opening few moments it was off target.


Argentina appeared to be struggling to deal with the pressure that comes with being gigantic favourites prior to their game with Iran. The South American squad had a poor first half hour with even Lionel Messi failing to trouble Haighighi in the Iranian goal.


Anytime the favourites did get the ball in the Iranian half, Iran made sure that they had ten players behind the ball making it extremely difficult for Argentina to break them down.


Iran were not without their own chances as Hosseini went close with less than five minutes to go till the break as he headed a corner kick marginally over the cross bar.


Argentina looked to come out with renewed energy after the break as Messi broke down the middle of the field before slipping the ball to his right to Zabaleta. The right back then cut in and tried to curl a shot into the far corner with his left foot, something that he was unsuccessful at completing.


Messi increasingly looked the most likely of players to score as he once again sprinted forward but was unable to curl his shot the right side of the far post as Iran were once again let off the hook.


Argentina were very lucky not to go behind after the hour mark when Romero was forced into a spectacular save to deny Dejagah's close range header.


With just over fifteen minutes to go it appeared like it just may not be Argentina's day as Messi struck a free kick from the edge of the box into the side netting in what was a disappointing effort from one of the world's best players.


With only 13 minutes of the 90 to go both managers opted to make changes with Lavezzi and Palacio replacing the previously favoured strike force of Aguero and Higuain.


As the clock continued to tick towards ninety Goochannejhad nearly caused pandemonium to ensue in the stands for the travelling Iran support as he broke away and on the counter attack forced Romero to once again pull off a fantastic save.


Then with the board showing four minutes of added time it was clear it was going to be a nervy wait for Iran. Just one minute into that added time Lionel Messi controlled the ball on the edge of the box with one touch before unleashing a thunderous long range curling effort into the far corner of the net to cause the stadium to erupt.



Argentina: Sergio Romero, Federico Fernandez, Ezequiel Garay, Marcos Rojo, Pablo Zabaleta; Fernando Gago, Angel Di Maria (Lucas Biglia 93), Javier Mascherano; Sergio Aguero (Ezequiel Lavezzi 77), Gonzalo Higuain (Rodrigio Palacio 77), Lionel Messi
Subs Not Used: Agusto Fernandez, Martin Demichellis, Hugo Campagnaro, Jose Basanta, Mariano Andujar, Ricardo Alvarez, Agustin Orion, Enzo Perez, Maxi Rodrgiuez

Booked: None


Iran: Alireza Haghighi, Amir Hossein Sadeqi, Jalal Hosseini, Pejman Montazeri, Mehrdad Pouladi; Ehsan Hajsafi (Reza Haghighi 88), Javad Nekounam, Andranik Teymourian; Reza Ghoochannejhad, Ashkan Dejagah (Alireza Jahnbakish 85), Masoud Shojaeo (Khosro Heidari 77)
Subs Not Used: Ghasem Hadadifar, Daniel Davari, Hashem Beykzadeh, Steven Beitashour, Karim Ansarifard, Ahmad Alenemeh, Rahman Ahmadi, Hossein Mahini, Bakhtiar Rahmani

Booked: Javad Nekounam (53), Masoud Shojaeo (73)


Referee: Milorad Mazic (Serbia)

Attendance: 57,698 Man Of The Match: Sergio Romero (Argentina)



Gareth O'Reilly

Gareth is the Editor of Gareth began as a normal reporter covering games all over Dublin before being asked to help out with behind the scene activities and eventually moving into the role of Editor prior to the start of the 2016 season. Some have said this was a seemless transition taking over from our owner and chief who shares the same great name. <br /><br /> Gareth has covered many games both male and female and even has experience covering underage tournaments such as the Galway Cup. Gareth has also attended many high profile internationals such as Ireland's famous win over Germany back in 2015. Where were you when Shane Long put the ball in the Germans net? <br /><br /> Gareth also had the pleasure of being part of the Extratime Team that traveled to France in the summer of 2016 to cover the European Championships. A truly memorable experience. <br /><br /> Today, Gareth isn't seen in as many press boxes as he once was as his time is mostly spent locked in a dark room also known as Extratime HQ where he busily runs the madness that is Extratime's Friday nights operation. He will also upload many articles throughout the week while also dealing with the PRO's of League of Ireland clubs on a daily basis. Ongoing recruitment is also high on Gareth's list of roles and if you are interested in getting involved don't forget to e-mail him at

Starting Lineup
(G) Alireza Haghighi
(D) Amir Hossein Sadeqi
(D) Jalal Hosseini
(D) Pejman Montazeri
(D) Mehrdad Pouladi
(M) Ehsan Hajsafi
(M) Javad Nekounam
(M) Andranik Teymourian
(F) Reza Ghoochannejhad
(F) Ashkan Dejagah
(F) Masoud Shojaei
Reza Haghighi
Ghasem Hadadifar
Daniel Davari
Hashem Beykzadeh
Steven Beitashour
Karim Ansarifard
Ahmad Alenemeh
Rahman Ahmadi
Khosro Heidari
Alireza Jahanbakhsh
Hossein Mahini
Bakhtiar Rahmani