Competition: 2014 FIFA World Cup Group C    Venue: Estadio Castelao, Fortaleza    Attendance:    Referee:

Andreas Samaris - Goal (42')

Georgios Samaras - Goal (92')

Tue 24 Jun 2014

2 - 1

(Full Time)
Ivory Coast
Ivory Coast

Didier Drogba - Yellow Card (37')

Salomon Kalou - Yellow Card (62')

Serey Dié - Yellow Card (69')

Wilfried Bony - Goal (74')

Starting Lineup
(G) Orestis Karnezis
(D) Giannis Maniatis
(D) Jose Holebas
(D) Kostas Manolas
(D) Sokratis Papastathopoulos
(D) Vasilis Torosidis
(M) Panagiotis Kone
(M) Giorgos Karagounis
(M) Lazaros Christodoulopoulos
(F) Dimitrios Salpingidis
(F) Georgios Samaras
Kostas Katsouranis
Stefanos Kapino
Panagiotis Glikos
Theofanis Gekas
Giannis Fetfatzidis
Kostas Mitroglou
Vangelis Moras
Andreas Samaris
Panagiotis Tachtsidis
Giorgos Tzavellas
Alexandros Tziolis
Loukas Vyntra

World Cup 2014 - Greece 2 - 1 Ivory Coast
Published: June 25, 2014

A dramatic end meant that a penalty from Georgias Samaras two minutes into injury time meant that Greece progress to the last 16 while Ivory Coast will progress no further. The unpredictability of the 2014 World Cup continued as the Ivory Coast had one foot in the last 16 before it was snatched away from them cruelly at the death.


The opening twenty minutes was more about injuries than about any real goal mouth action. Panagiostis Kone's night only lasted twelve minutes before he was forced off through injury.


Not long after that set back Greece also had Karnezis, their goalkeeper, require medical attention due to a back complaint. However after a lengthy delay in proceedings the Greece shot stopper was able to continue, but just five minutes later Kanezis signalled that he needed to be replaced as Glikos emerged from the bench for his third cap.


Greece were to go closest with one of the first shots of the contest as Samaras played in Holebas who cannoned his powerful shot off the cross bar.


Just a minute later a Karagounis free kick forced Barry into his first real save of the game although it was unlikely the keeper was ever going to be beaten by the tame long range strike.


With half time approaching the Greek substitute Samaris benefited from some poor play by Ivory Coast. Georgias Samaras latched onto a poor Cheick Tiote pass, before playing a through ball to Samaris who slotted past the on rushing Barry.


Neither side really threatened in the opening moments of the second half but Salpingidis did go close in the 58th minute when he unleashed a long range drive that was well parried by Barry on the Ivory Coast goal line.


Ivory Coast struggled to control the game in the second half but they did have one moment of brightness as Kalou curled an effort inches wide of the far post after cutting inside his defender.


Karagounis just moments later almost scored the goal of the tournament so far as he unleashed a 40 yard effort that smashed off Barry's cross bar before going over into the stands.


The chances were now coming thick and fast as Sol Bamba became the latest man to go close after he headed a Yaya Toure corner just wide.


Then with just over fifteen minutes to play Gervinho played a neat ball into the path of Bony who had a simple but all the same difficult job of slotting home past the keeper from close range.


In added time things were about to get just about as dramatic as they could. Samaras was tripped in the penalty area and in the 92nd minute Samaras stepped up to smash home a penalty that sent Greece through and put Ivory Coast on the plane home.



Greece: Orestis Karnezis (Panagiotis Glikos 24), Giannis Maniatis, Kostas Manolas, Georgias Samaras, Panagiostis Kone (Andreas Samaris 12), Giorgos Karagounis (Theofanis Gekas 78), Dimitrios Salpingidis, Vasilis Torosidis, Lazaros Christodoulopoulois, Sokratis Papastathopoulos, Jose Holebas
Subs Not Used: Girogos Tzavellas, Vangelis Moras, Alexandros Tziolis, Kostas Mitroglou, Loukas Vyntra, Stefanos Kapino, Giannis Fetfatzidis, Pangiotis Tachtsidis.

Booked: None


Ivory Coast: Boubacar Barry, Arthur Boka, Kola Toure, Salomen Kalou, Cheick Tiote, Gervinho (Giovanni Sio 83), Didier Drogba (Ismael Diomande 78), Serge Aurier, Yaya Toure, Serey Die, Sol Bamba
Subs Not Used: Ousmane Diarrassouba, Didier Zokora, Mathis Bolly, Jean-Daniel Akpa-Akpro, Wilfried Bony, Didier Ya Konan, Max Gradel, Sylvain Gbohouo, Constant Djakpa, Sayouba Mandé.

Booked: Didier Drogba (37), Salmon Kalou (62), Serey Die (69).


Referee: Carlos Vera (Ecuador)

Attendance: 55,095 Man Of The Match: Georgias Samaras (Greece)



Gareth O'Reilly

Gareth is the Editor of Gareth began as a normal reporter covering games all over Dublin before being asked to help out with behind the scene activities and eventually moving into the role of Editor prior to the start of the 2016 season. Some have said this was a seemless transition taking over from our owner and chief who shares the same great name. <br /><br /> Gareth has covered many games both male and female and even has experience covering underage tournaments such as the Galway Cup. Gareth has also attended many high profile internationals such as Ireland's famous win over Germany back in 2015. Where were you when Shane Long put the ball in the Germans net? <br /><br /> Gareth also had the pleasure of being part of the Extratime Team that traveled to France in the summer of 2016 to cover the European Championships. A truly memorable experience. <br /><br /> Today, Gareth isn't seen in as many press boxes as he once was as his time is mostly spent locked in a dark room also known as Extratime HQ where he busily runs the madness that is Extratime's Friday nights operation. He will also upload many articles throughout the week while also dealing with the PRO's of League of Ireland clubs on a daily basis. Ongoing recruitment is also high on Gareth's list of roles and if you are interested in getting involved don't forget to e-mail him at

Starting Lineup
(G) Boubacar Barry
(D) Arthur Boka
(D) Sol Bamba
(D) Serge Aurier
(D) Kolo Toure
(M) Serey Dié
(M) Cheick Tioté
(M) Yaya Toure
(F) Didier Drogba
(F) Gervinho
(F) Salomon Kalou
Constant Djakpa
Ismael Diomande
Ousmane Diarrassouba
Wilfried Bony
Mathis Bolly
Jean-Daniel Akpa-Akpro
Sylvain Gbohouo
Max Gradel
Sayouba Mande
Giovanni Sio
Didier Ya Konan
Didier Zokora